top of page

Subtle Touches That Refines Your Appearance


I remembered growing up as a child to a young adult. I hated every minute of it - especially the feeling of being a female.


I always thought that maybe I'm a man born in a woman's body. And often, my close friends then would have agreed without any doubts. Growing up with boys mostly, I struggled to get in touch with my feminine side. I grew up being straight forward, fiercely loyal, not interested in gossips, and often constantly on the move that I stopped seeing myself as a female.


Often, my jobs in the past wouldn't focus much on my dressing or looks as my main focus had always been producing the desire result and meeting my KPI. Being the 'back of the house' enable me to work with people in a more casual manner, and allows me to be comfortable with just basic apparels. There were times I needed to be more presentable (aka formal) but even then, the clients will focus on my presentation skills and response to their questions. Hence, I had very little concern on anything else.



It was only when I joined the Miss Plus World Malaysia pageant that I needed to clear the 'skeletons in my closet'. I remembered the days I felt frustrated, annoyed, dissatisfied and angry as it was against a lot of my earlier programming involving my femininity. And, I had to make a choice - to be comfortable and allow the old ways to take precedence? Or do I discover the side I've long suppressed?


The call from akka Uma (from Rawganics) helped me to reflect on my purpose. At that point of time, I truly wanted to see who Elena Tong can be if I allow myself that opportunity of growth, and discovery. And so, I did everything I could go to deeper within - finding the answers I previously wanted to ignore all my life.


Slowly but surely, I begun embracing myself as a female. The efforts it took to look and feel good can truly be a chore if you are doing it for someone else. Yet, as I saw my own changes, I also begun realising how comfortable I am with these routine. I also begun to see the changes in how I present myself, accept compliments, and the way I speak to others.


And when this stay-at-home mum (during the day) and fashionista (by night) from Mumbai, India by the name of Kanchan came into my life, things took a huge turn.


The jewellery set I used for the Miss Plus World Malaysia pageant

She is the founder of Be Jeweled By Kanchi that started 4 years ago and her business skyrocketed during the pandemic. It started with her selling jewelleries from different parts of the world before she eventually explored on creating her own personalized designs.


For me, I used to think I did not want to spend unnecessary money on things that doesn't really matter. However, there was a time she loaned me some of her jewelleries for a mini photoshoot and that completed the missing pieces of my looks. This experience immediately opened my eyes on how something to small, and intricate could give a plain look to seem more elegant.


And so, I started spending more time with this lady. I wanted to understand her passion in jewelleries and why did she went into 'customising' when she was already getting unique designs from around the globe.


These were her words...

Customised jewelleries are something you can call as your own. It makes you feel special, unique, and even more confident than you already are. I wanted people to think of Be Jeweled By Kanchi as a confidence booster.



Kanchan is a woman of big dreams. Jewelleries aren't just a fun hobby but a passion that she hopes to grow in the next 5 years. Her vision is for people to associate accessorising themselves with her brand, Be Jeweled By Kanchi.


And if you are wondering why I love this beautiful lady, here are my 5 top reasons:


  1. She's always ready to be part of the party. Her high energy, warmth and welcoming character will melt even the toughest one.

  2. I love that she encourages her daughter in running her new customized phone case business, Motive Trove. Oh yes, this mother is more than happy to boost her daughter's confidence and every single moment I hear her talk about it, I could feel the love, and pride in her beautiful heart.

  3. If running a jewellery business is not enough, she also runs a food business called Rasa By Kanchi. You have to try her Ras Malai. It's super flavorful and the spices is just so right!

  4. This mama treats and calls her lil one (a dog), Angel as her youngest daughter.

  5. Most importantly, Kanchan is always ready to be a cheerleader, a shoulder to cry on, and a pillar of hope. No matter the challenges, she would stride on with pride and glow in all glory ready to make the best of everything she has.


Do check her and her daughter businesses here:


Note: This is not a sponsored post. I just had such an amazing experience with them that I had to share this out!


I am hoping to be able to write more reviews in the future, and to learn about the passion that drives people to do what they love. I believe this is one of the potential solutions to self-redemption and mental empowerment.


---


Note: I will be representing Malaysia in for the international pageant, Miss Plus World on March. Buzz me to learn how I can help you spread your brand to a wider audience





bottom of page